Sahara News
Breaking News in Nigeria and World wide

BREAKING: INEC Refuses To Issue Certificate Of Return To Uzodinma, Gives Reason

SAHARANEWS – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) said it cannot issue a Certificate of Return to the new Governor of Imo state, Sen. Hope Uzodinma because it has not been served with the order of the Supreme Court to that effect.

The Commission in a terse statement by the Chief Press Secretary to its Chairman, Mr Rotimi Oyekanmi however promised to do the needful once it received the enrolled order.

“Please be informed that the Commission is yet to be served with the enrolled order of the Supreme Court judgement, therefore, we cannot issue the Certificate of Return to the APC candidate yet. However, once the Commission receives the enrolled order, the CoR will be issued”, INEC stated.

ALSO READ:  #EndSARS: Ohanaeze Ndigbo disowns Nnamdi Kanu on destruction of Yoruba assets

The Supreme Court had on Tuesday sacked Hon. Emeka Ihedioha as governor of the state, and consequently went to affirm the election of Uzodinma in his stead.

In the lead judgement read by Justice Kudirat Kekere-Ekun, the apex court ruled that records before it proved that election results from 388 polling units during the election, were unlawfully excluded from the overall collated results that declared Ihedioha winner of the state governorship election.

ALSO READ:  Nigerian Military Set To Reintegrate Another Group Of Repentant Boko Haram Terrorists Into The Army – DHQ

It noted that results from the cancelled polling units amounted to 213, 295 votes, adding that Ihedioha was returned elected, based on wrong computation of results.

According to the apex court, the tribunal and the appellate court failed to properly award justice to Uzodinma when he petitioned them because they misinterpreted his petition.

“There is merit in this appeal, it is hereby allowed. Majority judgement of the lower court affirming the election of the 2nd Respondent is hereby set-aside”, Justice Kekere-Ekun held.

ALSO READ:  FG Hasn't Learnt From #EndSARS Protest — Utomi, Anya, Momodu

Aside the Chief Justice of Nigeria, others in the 7-man panel include Justices Sylvester Ngwuta, Kayode Ariwola, Uwani Abba Ajji and Amiru Sanusi

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!